RSS

GIMP

19 Mar

I plan to fix my broken character this evening and, if need be, tomorrow.

I just wanted mention that I will be using GIMP instead of Photoshop in this project. It’s a bit of a risk, but I will give it a shot for making backgrounds. I always said that Photoshop would likely be the last thing that would be replaced in an open-source pipeline, but the newer releases of Gimp seem to have swayed my opinion a little bit.

I had been playing around with version 2.44, but had issues with a BUG that offset the cursor by a marginal distance. Installing the latest release 2.45 fixed the issue. They even made a  note in the release  notes. 

It’s not a very intuitive application, especially for painting, but it’s free and it has a large set of tools. The only problem I forsee is getting my files into and out of my compositing application with the layers intact. If push comes to shove, I may get Photoshop or try another application like Pixel which is not free, but really cheap and with more features (and a unified interface).

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
